Skip to content
I’m married! And other stuff.

September 17, 2012

I’M MARRIED! Matt and I tied the knot last Saturday, September 8th, and since then, I’ve been taking a much-needed break from blogging and working in general (no honeymoon for us; sadness). As of today, I’m going to try to get back in the swing of things, but I must admit I’m a little overwhelmed by my to-do list at the moment. I’ve got a lot of ground to cover this fall, but I’ll be doing my best to take things one step at a time. My blogging will probably be erratic (though hasn’t it always been?), but I WILL be fulfilling all my posting promises over the course of the season, including a juice cleansing review wrap-up and a whole series of wedding posts.

I will also admit that, after the austerity of my Summer of Juice, I’ve been verrry liberal with my diet since the wedding. I’ve been indulging in many things I haven’t had in months, and though I’m now ready to get back into a healthier eating regimen, I’ve certainly enjoyed the past week and a half!

Matt and I have actually not had much time “alone together” as newlyweds, but we have gone on a couple meal dates. The morning after the wedding, we ate lunch at Waldo Pizza: gluten-free vegan cheesy bread…

…and pizza (mushrooms, onions, and vegan hamburger for Matt; roasted garlic, artichoke hearts, and Kalamata olives for me).

A couple nights ago, we enjoyed an Ethiopian feast at Blue Nile, including veggie sambusas…

…and a whole bunch of tasty veggie and lentil dishes, along with plenty of injera.

We also may have picked up a couple baked vegan doughnuts at the Friday night farmers market. Shh.

I’ve been enjoying spending the bulk of my time lately, though, with the amazing Hannah of Wayfaring Chocolate, who came to town for the wedding and is staying with us pretty much all month. Isn’t she darling? We’ve been having quite a time together.

We spent a beautiful day in my college town of Lawrence, Kansas last week.

After two days of coffee-ing up at the KC Caffeine Crawl (more on that in another post), we grabbed dinner at CafΓ© Gratitude. Matt had I Am Fortified…

…Hannah had I Am Gorgeous…

…and I had I Am Humble. Check out CG-KC’s site for the deets on these dishes.

Another highlight was lunch at FÜD! Hannah had a raw rainbow salad with wild rice taco meat, and I ate an order of the Nachitos, with wild rice taco meat, cashew nacho cheese, guacamole, et al. After that, we went next door to Little Freshie for a post-lunch treat: a raspberry-pine needle “shrub” (an unsweetened vinegar-soda drink) and a pistachio macaron.

There is much, much more, but I’m going to take it easy on myself and blog it all in a string of shorter posts rather than one giant post.

I hope you’re all having a lovely September so far. Watch out for wedding posts to begin soon. πŸ˜‰

53 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2012 1:53 pm

    Congratulations!! Your rings are so very cool! And the eats all look divine. xoxo

  2. September 17, 2012 1:54 pm

    Yea! Is that you in your wedding dress on top? Sooooo pretty! I really hate that we had to miss the wedding!! 😦 I can’t wait to see more pics.

  3. September 17, 2012 1:57 pm

    It looks as thought you’ve been enjoying yourself! All of that food.. Yum… And congrats again on the wedding, you are gorgeous! Those rings are rad, too. Can’t wait to see more of your updates. πŸ™‚

  4. September 17, 2012 2:00 pm

    Congrats on the wedding! The photos I’ve seen look stunning. It’s okay to indulge a little after the fact (I did the same thing).

    I can’t wait to meet Hannah very soon!

  5. September 17, 2012 2:01 pm

    Massive congrats to you!!!!!!! I have been reading all your posts about the juice cleanse, etc from my reader but this caused me to click off! You are gorgeous! and the ring isn’t too shabby either πŸ™‚

  6. bitt permalink
    September 17, 2012 2:02 pm

    Congrats! I bet you are elated that it’s over and you can relax. Looks like you are having a lot of fun “stay-cationing” or enjoying eats and fun times in your own city. And having a visitor makes it extra special.

    Food looks very indulgent, awesome GF vegan stuff like that exists for you. I always want fried food and junky stuff after a juice cleanse too. Detox then retox!

    • September 17, 2012 2:07 pm

      Yes, it’s definitely been a staycation! It’s been fun to play tourist in my own town while “hosting” Hannah.
      “Retox” indeed! Haha, too true.

  7. September 17, 2012 2:17 pm

    Congrats on the wedding! You look gorgeous! I LOVE Ethiopian cuisine! Have you tried out Elsa’s? It’s downtown OP right by the Overland Park Farmers Market. It’s Amazing!!

  8. September 17, 2012 2:32 pm

    I heart you in all the ways, dearest soulsister-mindtwin! And not just for your almond butter noodles and the nut butter packets I can see by my side in that first photo. πŸ˜‰ Thank you (and Matt) for making me feel more at home than I realised could be possible, and here’s to “making more days; it’s that simple!” if we can. xoxoxoxo times a squillion.

  9. Dana Pinder permalink
    September 17, 2012 3:15 pm

    Oh Amber CONGRATULATIONS on your wedding!!!! I will anxiously look forward to seeing the photos and posts!!! I am so HAPPY for you both and wish you a LONG LIFE FILLED WITH MUCH LOVE, LUCK, GOOD HEALTH AND LOTS OF LAUGHTER!!!

  10. September 17, 2012 4:03 pm

    A HUGE “CONGRATULATIONS” to you both!!! This really is the best time of year for a wedding πŸ˜€

  11. wolfenstein permalink
    September 17, 2012 6:19 pm

    married?????? CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

    p.s do you remember me??? long time no see!

  12. cheezyk permalink
    September 17, 2012 6:41 pm

    Love the rings and your necklace! Looking forward to seeing a full length shot of that dress too, it’s gorgeous!

  13. September 17, 2012 7:00 pm

    Congratulations on your wedding, Amber and welcome back to blogging!!! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear all the details. Your dress was beautiful.

  14. September 17, 2012 7:23 pm

    Congrats Amber!! You looked just stunning and I love your rings!

    Looks like you and Hannah are having a wonderful time, yay πŸ™‚

  15. September 17, 2012 9:39 pm

    What a great update, Amber! I have to say, you look stunning in that first photo – absolutely beautiful.

    And those CG dishes have me drooling. Love the KC spin. πŸ™‚

    Have a great week.

    Hugs,
    –Amber

  16. September 17, 2012 9:49 pm

    congrats Amber!!!! love the rings and your dress!! so happy for you!!! welcome to married life πŸ˜‰ hugs
    xoxo
    Lori

  17. September 17, 2012 11:29 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS, Amber! Love the wedding photo (You are gorgeous!) and the rings! Very happy for you

  18. September 18, 2012 12:53 am

    Congratulations!

  19. September 18, 2012 7:44 am

    Congratulations!! Love the photos and the the vegan junk food looks particularly inviting!

  20. September 18, 2012 9:48 am

    Congratulations. Love all the photos. Can’t wait to see more. That ring is gorgeous, BTW!

  21. September 18, 2012 4:35 pm

    I do SO love that top photo of you, it looks like a theatrical performance with you being a mega star. Then again, you totally are!! Congratulations A & M!!!! Love seeing so much happiness xx

  22. September 18, 2012 9:37 pm

    Girlfriend, quit holding out on the wedding pics! πŸ™‚

  23. September 18, 2012 9:42 pm

    Oh, I bet you girls did have fun. Lots of great looking food. I love your ring!

  24. September 20, 2012 5:22 am

    Congratulations Amber and Matt! Looking forward to glowing and glorious photos and details about your supercool cruelty-free wedding! Yippee for you! πŸ™‚

  25. September 21, 2012 3:21 pm

    I’m so happy for you Amber! Hugest congrats to you and Matt. You look absolutely STUNNING. I can’t wait to see wedding pics πŸ˜€ Yummmmy eats as always.

  26. Tara permalink
    September 21, 2012 10:24 pm

    Amber,
    You and Hannah are so adorable together! It looks like you are having an awesome time. I wish I had a soul-twin! : ) Also, I’d never heard of Hannah’s blog until reading about it here. Hannah’s is also quite entertaining and lovely. That’s kind of funny because I originally heard of YOUR blog from reading another vegan food blog. And so the cycle continues…. : )

Leave a Comment

