Skip to content

Kansas City Caffeine Crawl, day 1

September 24, 2012

My current houseguest and partner in crime Hannah has been far more diligent than I in blogging about our adventures lately. Catch her posts so far here, here, and here!

The weekend before last, Hannah and I attended the 2nd annual Caffeine Crawl, a two-day guided tour extravaganza of some of Kansas City’s independent coffee shops. Now, we’re no Seattle or Portland, but coffee is BIG here, and indie roasters, shops, and coffee companies abound.

Day 1 of the Crawl began at Parisi Artisan Coffee.

At Parisi and each of the other stops, we witnessed a short presentation and got to try a selection of coffees (just a couple ounces per cup!).

We were split into group of 25 and traveled by school bus all day long.

Crossroads Coffeehouse was the first stop.

At Benetti’s Coffee Experience in Raytown, we learned how to make coffee over a campfire, a skill I fully expect to never use. πŸ˜‰

I tried my best to stay out of the sun. My skin can’t handle it!

One More Cup in Waldo offered vegan cookies with their coffee samples!

Broadway Roasting Company went all out, with local food samples, toddies, coffee ice cream, and coffee beer.

Oddly Correct Coffee Roasters left me and Hannah wondering: what is it about baristas and big bushy beards?!

Day 1 of the Crawl ended at Annedore’s Fine Chocolates.

We wrapped it up on a great note, with delightful truffles…

…and chocolate-covered popcorn!

Coming up tomorrow: day 2 of the Caffeine Crawl!

UPDATE: Read Hannah’s post about day 1 of the Crawl here.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 1:27 pm

    I wonder if they weigh their beards in grams, too? Questions, questions… I’m still upset that we didn’t get to eat toasted marshmallows over the campfire. We could even have brought our own Dandies, if we’d known…

    Thank you so much for my Caffeine Crawl ticket, dearest! x

    • September 24, 2012 1:28 pm

      I’m so glad you were here to attend the Crawl with me! You make the best caffeinating partner ever. πŸ˜€

      • September 24, 2012 1:37 pm

        I wish we could drink hemp milk mesquite Parisi coffee all day every day together… πŸ™‚

  2. bitt permalink
    September 24, 2012 3:56 pm

    Yum now I’m craving a cup of coffee. Did they teach you how to make coffee with no press or coffee maker? That is a skill I’d like to have.

    • September 24, 2012 4:24 pm

      I suppose that’s what they did in the campfire demo – they basically added the grounds to a pot of simmering water and “cooked” it for a bit, then strained off the liquid. Also, V60 and/or Chemex “pourovers” have become a big deal here – though you need the special cup/carafe to make those.

  3. September 24, 2012 4:33 pm

    Thanks for offering your opinion on the honey debate – I completely agree with you, and I think it’s important for others to hear it. On another note – I would do anything to attend a coffee festival!! It sounds amazing – and really yummy. πŸ™‚

  4. cheezyk permalink
    September 24, 2012 7:34 pm

    Ha! There was an article in the local paper about the coffee scene in Melbourne the other day that commented on baristas and their beards too … it’s definitely a thing …

    Also, I am now reconsidering our travel plans – maybe driving cross country is not such a bad idea after all … so much to see and do!

  5. September 24, 2012 9:31 pm

    what a fun event! it looks like you had a blast!

  6. September 24, 2012 10:02 pm

    those truffles look amazing.

  7. September 24, 2012 10:13 pm

    Sounds like my kinda day out!

Leave a Comment

