Skip to content
Kansas City Caffeine Crawl, day 2

September 25, 2012

My current houseguest and partner in crime Hannah has been far more diligent than I in blogging about our adventures lately. Catch her posts so far here, here, and here!

The weekend before last, Hannah and I attended the 2nd annual Caffeine Crawl, a two-day guided tour of some of Kansas City’s best independent coffee shops and roasters. I blogged yesterday about day 1 of the Crawl (click here to read that post), and today I’ll cover day 2.

Day 2 of the Crawl began with E.F. Hobbs at About the Coffee

…where we learned to roast coffee beans using household objects like a popcorn popper and vacuum cleaner. Pretty awesome!

Next we went to The Roasterie, one of KC’s best known coffee vendors.

It was really neat to tour the factory.

I took the opportunity to pose as a coffee bean…

…before enjoying the samples.

Next up was The Filling Station, KC’s only “coffee garage.”

They did something a little different: they gave us samples of coffee whiskey!

Coffee-chocolate cupcakes, too. Mmm.

Matt was hungry for lunch by this time, so he picked up a veggie burger and a sweet potato-pineapple-lime juice.

Next up was one of my very favorite KC institutions: Mud Pie Vegan Bakery & Coffeehouse! I love that a 100%-vegan shop got to be featured on the Crawl.

And they went all out. They offered coffees and toddies featuring soy, coconut, and cashew milk…

…and the greatest buffet of free vegan treats I’ve ever seen!

Oh. MAN. In addition to our coffees, we snagged a mini mocha cupcake, a mini lemon-coconut bundt cake, a peanut butter rice krispie treat…

…a cheddar-sausage scone, and a chocolate chip cookie. Yes, all vegan. SO YUM! I heart Mud Pie!

Next we visited Quay Coffee (pronouned “Key”) in the River Market area.

Again with the baristas and beards…what the?

We went all the way out to Overland Park to hit Revocup Coffee Roasters and learn about Ethiopian coffees.

We finished at Lattéland Espresso & Tea

…with espresso and mini fig newtons.

So there you have it! Two days, 14 coffee shops, and a whole lotta caffeine. I already can’t wait for next year’s Crawl!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 3:02 pm

    I so want to go go to something like this someday!

    • September 25, 2012 3:04 pm

      It started in Kansas City last year, and this year they expanded to Boulder and someplace else in Missouri too…soon they should happen in even more cities!

  2. September 25, 2012 3:05 pm

    Mud Pie Bakery wins at life forever and ever amen.

    Also, you are a very believable coffee bean.

    Also, that sweet potato juice blew my mind.

    Also, yay! But hemp milk is golden.

  3. September 25, 2012 4:11 pm

    OH. my. GOODNESS….that table of free vegan treats looked so tasty!! And Sweet Potato juice? Very cool.

  4. September 25, 2012 6:21 pm

    I’m not a coffee girl but I’d try a chocolate coffee cupcake! And that Mud Pie Bakery is calling my name!!!!

    • September 25, 2012 6:24 pm

      The Crawl was worth it for the baked goods/snacks/chocolate/finger foods alone!
      I’ll take you to Mud Pie (multiple trips!) when you come visit. 😉

  5. September 25, 2012 6:33 pm

    Love the coffee spot in River Market.
    If I am still in KC next year, I think I might have to come along for the next crawl. I love coffee, and I love sweets even more.

  6. September 25, 2012 8:29 pm

    awesome!! being coffee lovers this would of been heaven

  7. cheezyk permalink
    September 25, 2012 8:32 pm

    Well, I’m sold … road trip here I come!

  8. September 26, 2012 1:27 am

    That MudPie place looks AMAZING….. I think I want to live there 🙂

  9. Life's a Bowl permalink
    September 30, 2012 7:33 am

    This is such a cool crawl- I’d totally go if there was one near us [in DC]!!! And all of the tasty treats [especially the PB rice krispie] look delic!

  10. October 3, 2012 3:26 pm

    Male baristas are contractually obligated to have beards it qualify for hipster heaven.

Leave a Comment

