Skip to content
Wedding: Videography

September 26, 2012
tags:

For more wedding posts, visit my new Wedding tab!

For our wedding videography, we hired Justin Bond of Cinematic Occasions. We were super impressed by all the work on his site, but were truly blown away how by our own wedding film turned out. Justin did an incredible job of capturing the day and night, and his skill with video-editing and the camera is awe-inspiring.

Here’s a 1-minute “trailer,” if you just want a quick glimpse…


…and here’s the full 10-minute wedding mini-movie.


I have a lot left to post about, but to quickly answer a few burning Q’s you may already have…
1) Yes, we made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for our unity ceremony.
2) Yes, my bouquet was made of purple kale.
3) All the music in the videos is by Nine Inch Nails, and we had many other NIN touches in the wedding, including quotes in the ceremony, all the table names, and more.

If I’ve now gotten you curious about many other details, know that I WILL be blogging about much more! But I still don’t know yet when we’ll receive our photos, and since I want to include those in many of my posts, I’ll have to wait until then. But hopefully soon!

If you live in the Kansas City area and are looking for a wedding videographer, we can’t recommend Cinematic Occasions highly enough. Justin exceeded our greatest hopes and expectations in every way!

For more wedding posts, visit my Wedding tab!

49 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2012 10:19 am

    You know this already, but LOVE IT! Justin really did a fantastic job of capturing the “essence” of your wedding.

  2. Tara permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:29 am

    Wow!!! This is so special.Your wedding was amazing and this video is spectacular! You look sooooo gorgeous! I love all of the personal touches you both brought to your truly unique wedding. Thank you for sharing. This video is more than JUST a wedding video–it is art.

  3. September 26, 2012 10:30 am

    Aw, my flash player is out of date on Chrome. Lemme switch to Firefox and try again.

  4. Jenn permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:44 am

    Gorgeous Amber! So obvious the deep connection you and Matt share!

  5. bitt permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:46 am

    What a fun ceremony and celebration of your love for each other. And the cupcakes looked great too. πŸ™‚

  6. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe permalink
    September 26, 2012 11:09 am

    I love it! Everything about your wedding was so sexy and elegant. You have a great group of friends and a wonderful husband.

  7. Chris permalink
    September 26, 2012 11:12 am

    Definitely a talented videographer. Unique and fabulous wedding. Nothing like being yourself on YOUR day.

  8. September 26, 2012 11:21 am

    This is the best wedding video I have ever seen! I love how you made everything unique and memorable. Congratulations again on what looks like a perfect day!

    • September 26, 2012 11:22 am

      Thanks Amy! Not to toot our own horn or anything, but we were told my many people that it was the best wedding they’d ever been to πŸ˜› I can’t wait to get our photos back so I can post about all the details!

  9. September 26, 2012 11:36 am

    This has to be the most beautiful, well made wedding video I have EVER seen. Not just because of the cinematography,but because of the LOVE. I had tears in my eyes the entire time watching!

    You were just breathtaking, Amber. And Matt, what a sweet, fun, loving AND handsome partner you have chosen. Your love for each other was just so wonderful to watch. It really had me in tears. It was also such fun to see you in the video. You are so gorgeous! What a happy, happy day. I’m glad everything went well. Wishing you a lifetime of love.

    Big hugs to you,
    –Amber

    • September 26, 2012 1:00 pm

      Amber, you’re nearly bringing tears to MY eyes now! Thank you so much for the sweet comments. I am so very lucky to have found Matt in this lifetime. πŸ™‚

  10. September 26, 2012 11:52 am

    Thank you for sharing your special day! Love the video!

  11. September 26, 2012 12:24 pm

    Every time I watch this, it gives me chills and reminds me how grateful I am to have been there with you and Matt for your wedding, celebrating the glory that is your love. Thank you, dear heart.

    P.S. On my fourth time watching this, I suddenly noticed that you can see me in the gaggle of women during the kale bouquet toss…. steadfastly not going for it at all. Bahahaha!

    • September 26, 2012 2:28 pm

      WE are SO SO happy you were able to make it! And that, in doing so, you set in motion all your other travel adventures. πŸ™‚

  12. September 26, 2012 12:25 pm

    Your wedding looks amazing. It’s so modern, personalized and fun. Love the PB&J idea and “the sexy dance.” Congrats again!

  13. September 26, 2012 1:06 pm

    wow, that is an amazing video. each shot is a capture of emotions and light. congratulations once again! your wedding looks so interesting and right out of a movie:)

  14. September 26, 2012 1:35 pm

    Congratulations!!!
    You looked divaliciously stunning! Loved every detail.
    What an awesome wedding. The video is just out of a movie!!! ;D
    xoxo
    Ella

  15. Theo permalink
    September 26, 2012 2:26 pm

    I started tearing up from the very beginning : ) Great video! LOVE everything – your dress, cupcakes, setting, decor, bouquet, the pb&j, your vows, Matt’s sexy dance…what a perfect and unique wedding as well as a wonderful lifetime memory. Congratulations to both of you again!

  16. September 26, 2012 6:36 pm

    Awww Amber, it’s so awesome to ‘see’ you both. I watched both videos (how could you not?) and loved them both SO MUCH! You are a truly stunning bride. So happy for you xx

  17. Jennifer permalink
    September 26, 2012 8:37 pm

    What an amazing video!!! That is a wedding video I would actually want to watch again. πŸ™‚ It was fun seeing bits and pieces of your wedding, it looks like it was truly perfect.

  18. September 26, 2012 8:39 pm

    WOW! Well, the trailer made me want to watch the full mini-movie, and DANG GIRL! What an amazing wedding!! Congrats again & again!

  19. September 27, 2012 7:02 pm

    Wow Amber! This video is insanely awesome and so well put together. What a beautiful ceremony/celebration of your and Matt’s love and your life together. Those cupcakes! Mmmm my mouth is watering. And so cool that you made the pb & j sammies! Again, biggest congratulations.

  20. Ariel permalink
    September 27, 2012 9:15 pm

    I think this is the only wedding video i’ve been excited to watch all the way through! You look beautiful, and congratulations!

  21. September 27, 2012 10:31 pm

    Very cool!

  22. September 27, 2012 11:19 pm

    Oh you gorgeous, gorgeous lady…what a beautiful event!

  23. Siliva permalink
    October 2, 2012 12:53 pm

    Oh my gosh….you had me in tears here, like your middle aged aunt or something! Seriously, I had to bring out the Kleenex box!

    Thank you for opening your life so transparently to us–that is brave and generous of you and Matt. In return, please know there are so many of us sending you piles and piles of good energy and wishes!

    Also, kudos for doing your wedding YOUR way. It was Gotham-on-a-spring-day, fun, quirky, very irreverent yet strangely traditional!! You looked ravishing and Matt is very handsome; most attractive is the fun and kindness that is so palpable between you guys and your friends and family.

    Again, much love and joy from one of your many readers. Thanks again for sharing.

    • October 2, 2012 7:31 pm

      You almost have ME in tears from your comment! Hehe.
      I appreciate your well wishes so very much (Matt does too!), and thank you also for your kind words about our wedding “style”!

  24. nik permalink
    October 4, 2012 5:51 am

    I had to come back and watch this again. That Justin is brilliant and you are just radiant!
    And what a mind-blowingly cool wedding…from the dress to the pb&j to the NIN soundtrack. You are so wildly creative…if I ever decide to do that marriage thing, may I hire you and Justin as my design/image team?
    Best wishes to you both. Blessed Be. πŸ™‚

    • October 4, 2012 9:21 am

      Thanks!! Dude, I would totally be your Offbeat Wedding Consultant πŸ˜‰ And I’m sure Justin would fly anywhere to film another awesome gothy wedding!

Leave a Comment

