Skip to content
Adventures with Hannah: sushi night, chocolate road trip, RenFest, and more.

October 8, 2012

My now-former (sadness!) houseguest and partner in crime Hannah has been far more diligent than I in blogging about our adventures lately. Catch her posts so far here, here, here, here, here, here, and here!

The lovely Hannah stayed with us for a full three weeks, and we had more fun than I could ever catalog here. I already wrote a bit about our first week’s adventures, as well as the Caffeine Crawl we attended, but here are some more highlights from our September together.

We got together with my friend Hillary one night for a homemade sushi party.

We made real sushi rice and some raw jicama-parsnip “rice” for our rolls.

We played with a whole bunch of different veg fillings…

…and we made inari too. Oh dear, I do so love inari.
What a feast! Hillary also wrote about our evening here.

Hannah and I made a 3-hour drive to Springfield, Missouri one day to visit…

The Askinosie Chocolate factory!
We got a private tour of the facility…

…and had a delightful chocolate tasting session.

It was an awesome experience! Hannah wrote a much more detailed and informative post about it here.

With bellies full of delicious chocolate, we drove another hour east to reach Mansfield, Missouri, where we toured the home of Laura Ingalls Wilder. Oh yes we did. Hannah wrote all about it here!

The Kansas City Renaissance Festival is something Matt and I look forward to all year, and we usually go multiple times during its six-week duration. Hillary and Hannah joined us for this trip. It was a hilarious and fun-filled day. Hillary blogged about it here, and Hannah just wrote a [very entertaining] post about it here.

For Hannah’s final night here, we (she, Matt, and I) went to The Mystery Train interactive murder mystery dinner theatre. The veg meal option was quite delicious; it included corn chips with black bean dip…

…spring green salad with hazelnut vinaigrette…

…penne pasta, marinara, and roasted vegetables…

…and a baby chocolate brownie tart with strawberries.

Finally, on two different occasions, I showed Hannah the wonder that is Genghis Khan, my favorite restaurant in the world. (Hannah blogged about it here.)

Hannah’s extended visit contained all this and so much more. She’s only been gone a week and a half, but I already miss my soulsister like crazy. ❀

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2012 3:58 pm

    how fun!! the sushi turned out great!

  2. October 8, 2012 4:50 pm

    imissyouimissyouimissyou ❀ ❀

    Can we turn back time, please? I want to do it all again. Thank you for the loveliest-loveliest words and the links (and to think, I still plan to write more about our time together! You're so much cleverer with the concise thing).

    missyouloveyou.

    • October 8, 2012 7:04 pm

      Oh no no, I’m not cleverer! I’m lazier! I really do wish I had the time and energy to do a play-by-play like you. There are too many fun things to share. πŸ™‚

  3. October 8, 2012 8:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. I was looking forward to hearing more. It sounds like you toured some new things and some of your favorite things. Cool to see that the murder show got the veg food right again so well like last year.
    love
    Ela

    • October 8, 2012 8:42 pm

      This was actually our first time at the Mystery Train theatre! You may be thinking of Phantom’s Feaste, which we attend near the end of October. Matt and I are definitely going to that again this year, too. πŸ™‚

  4. Tara permalink
    October 9, 2012 10:39 am

    Sounds like you guys had a blast! I read Hannah’s post about the Laura Ingalls Wilder house–it was so cute!!!
    The Sushi looks amazing!!! Would love to try raw jimica/parsnip sushi rice!

  5. October 9, 2012 1:42 pm

    Love it-looks like a great time!

  6. October 12, 2012 1:34 pm

    I just went to read her posts, too. That’s really fun you guys got to have a girl bonding trip. I’ve been to Laura’s house a couple of times and will take my kids one of these days soon as we are reading the books. We’ve also been planning a visit to Askinosie forever. But they just do public tours on Tuesdays, I think, and it hasn’t worked out for us YET. I have had their chocolate, though.

    • October 12, 2012 2:08 pm

      We got a private tour on a Thursday cuz we’re bloggers πŸ˜‰ You might try contacting them, letting them know you’ll blog about it, and they might be able to accommodate a different day/time!

  7. October 13, 2012 10:31 am

    I love these fun posts, Amber! Everything looks amazing. You are looking well! And I LOVE that chocolate shirt of yours. Too cute. Have a great rest of your weekend.

    Hugs,
    –Amber

    • October 13, 2012 10:33 am

      Thanks dear! I hadn’t worn that Count Chocula shirt in years (thus the, erm, tightness of it), so I was glad to have an excuse to do so. πŸ˜‰

  8. Hillary Dyan Davis permalink
    October 14, 2012 4:08 am

    Entirely too much fun was had; however, I must ask: Where are the daikon photos? πŸ˜‰

    • October 14, 2012 9:25 am

      I was trying to respect Hannah’s modesty, you see πŸ˜‰ Thus the lack of incriminating pickle photos as well!

  9. October 15, 2012 5:18 am

    wow that sushi looks good, haven’t made any for ages, must rectify that:) I love avocado in mine!

Leave a Comment

