Skip to content
Ooey Gooey Triple Chocolate Brownies

October 11, 2012

Like many other bloggers (or so I imagine), I’m perpetually working on a backlog. I try to stay on top of it as best I can, but I feel like I’m always a month or two behind, no matter what I do. On top of that, not everything I create makes it to the blog (far from it), so oftentimes recipes will tumble into the abyss of my hard drive and never come out alive. Usually, that’s fine—I do try to share my very best stuff with you guys. But every once in awhile, a true gem that I have every intention of posting somehow falls through the cracks. Such is the case with these life-changing brownies that I made in…wait for it…September 2011. (::hides face::)

I just came across them again yesterday, and I just knew I couldn’t not post them. Do take note that these were created several months before I went gluten-free, so they DO contain gluten, and I haven’t tried making them any other way. (However, if anyone would like to take on the challenge of de-glutenizing them, please let me know what you come up with!)

These luscious brownies contain a triple dose of chocolate in the forms of cocoa powder, chocolate milk, and chocolate chips. You won’t be able to stop at just one.

Those of you that can eat gluten NEED to make these. NOW. Trust me.

Ooey Gooey Triple Chocolate Brownies

dairy-free, egg-free, soy-free, nut-free

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup spelt flour (or additional whole wheat pastry flour)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon cream of tartar
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 1/2 cups evaporated cane juice or organic sugar
1 1/4 cups chocolate nondairy milk (use coconut or hempmilk for nut-free)
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup melted coconut oil
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (10-oz.) bag nondairy chocolate chips, divided

Preheat the oven to 350°F and lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, cream of tartar, baking powder and soda, and salt (this is the dry mixture).

In a medium bowl, whisk together the sugar, chocolate milk, applesauce, oil, vinegar, and vanilla (this is the wet mixture).

In a small bowl in the microwave (or on the stove in a double boiler), melt 2 ounces (about 1/3 cup) of the chocolate chips. Whisk the melted chocolate into the wet mixture.

Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture, and gently stir together with a wooden spoon (or fold together with a spatula) until very few clumps remain (don’t overmix). Fold in the remaining 8 ounces of chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, until the brownies spring back slightly when touched and have pulled away from the sides of the pan. Remove from the oven and let cool completely before cutting and serving.

Yield: 15 big brownies
Per brownie: 295 calories, 13.7g fat (10g sat), 45.3g carbs, 4g fiber, 2.6g protein

Variation: Add 1 teaspoon peppermint extract to the batter for Mint Chocolate Brownies.

Chef’s Tip: If you don’t have chocolate nondairy milk on hand, by all means use plain or vanilla milk. These are almost-just-as scrumptious when made as Double Chocolate Brownies!

Yes, it’s been over a year since I’ve tasted these beauties…

…but I remember them like it was yesterday.

Every. Ooey. Gooey. Tender. Fudgy. Chocolatey. Perfect. Bite.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    October 11, 2012 10:38 am

    Wow, these sound awesome! So glad that u remebered to share them. Better late than never. I’m going to try them next time I have an insatiable craving for chocolate. Thank you : )

    • October 11, 2012 3:42 pm

      Better late than never, indeed! Matt may demand another pan or two of these this fall, so maybe I better pick up some wheat flour just for him. 🙂

  2. October 11, 2012 10:46 am

    I will make them gluten-free…stay tuned. 😉

    • October 11, 2012 3:44 pm

      OOH! If there’s any girl that’s right for the job, I know it’s you. Report back!!

      • October 18, 2012 2:18 pm

        Okay, so long overdue…but they didn’t quite work out with my g-free mix. And partly because I had forgotten that I had added some sorghum flour to it several months ago (I keep a huge batch mixed up and stored in the freezer). Sorghum makes baked goods REALLY, REALLY soft, like cakes and muffins. Not so great for brownies, lol. Now that probably wasn’t the only issue…I just think there was probably too much liquid in this recipe for my gluten-free mix. It DID turn out to be a delicious and gooey cake however, that would not even stay in tact when I tried to cut it and lift it from the pan, even with the addition of a good dose of xanthan gum. Nevertheless, hubz and I finished the pan in just a few days…it was good. 🙂 So, I’d say if you don’t care about cosmetics, you could use my mix. Otherwise, may have to find something else. Better Batter, which is a g-free mix you can get from Hy-Vee, might work. It ‘tightens up’ pretty quick, so it might stand up to the lack of eggs and high amount of liquid. But there are hundreds of great vegan AND g-free recipes out there anyway. 🙂 Oh well, it was a fun and yummy experiment.

        • October 18, 2012 2:20 pm

          I won’t give up…I might play around with the recipe again after Halloween passes.

        • October 18, 2012 7:48 pm

          Well, that sucks it didn’t work out as beautifully as you’d hoped, but that’s good to know about the sorghum flour, etc. And hey, I’m not opposed to eating cake/brownies right of the pan with a spoon, after all… ;P

  3. October 11, 2012 10:53 am

    Whaaaaat is this?! I am trying to LOSE weight for my trip this weekend home to the 816, but lo. I just mixed the batter and licked the bowl already! (yum-O.)

  4. October 11, 2012 11:02 am

    Yum! I know what I am making soon!

  5. October 11, 2012 1:14 pm

    Man, that makes me want to bake brownies! Maybe I’ll try a famous blondie (plus the addition of raw cacoa) instead 😉

  6. October 11, 2012 2:29 pm

    I have recipes from 2010. High five, sisterfriend!

  7. October 11, 2012 3:30 pm

    Just fell off my chair. DROOOOOOOOL!!!!!!

    • October 11, 2012 3:30 pm

      I know, right?! I can’t wait till my friend Trish tries deglutenizing them – she’s going to report back. 😉

  8. October 11, 2012 6:32 pm

    You tempt me so! lol! Looks delicious, and I’m sure you enjoyed it! Can’t believe we’re only a week or so away!! Can’t wait for you to be here!!! ❤

  9. October 11, 2012 8:58 pm

    These look delicious – and the pictures with the melty chocolate. Man, that works. Thanks for sharing!

  10. October 11, 2012 10:01 pm

    Amber, these look *amazing*

    I can’t wait to try them. I’ve been craving chocolate all week. I’m sure this’ll be the thing to get me my chocolate “fix”. 🙂

  11. October 11, 2012 10:05 pm

    ooooh gooey brownies.. come to me! these look fantastical! these are happening this weekend for hubb’s birthday! cakes arent fun anymore:)

    • October 11, 2012 10:07 pm

      Brownies are Matt’s favorite dessert; he’d take them over cake any day 😛 I hope you and hubby love these – I know you will!

  12. October 12, 2012 4:15 pm

    yes! My kind of brownie!

  13. October 13, 2012 6:04 am

    I’d say these might just be worth waiting for 🙂 They look gorgeous Amber! I don’t usually get excited about brownies but these look like the sort I do like.

  14. October 13, 2012 5:07 pm

    Yum, these look like they’d totally hit the spot! Especially on this cool, rainy day 🙂

    • October 13, 2012 5:12 pm

      Indeed! This must be “brownie weather,” cuz I baked another batch (using a different recipe, though) this afternoon.

  15. October 14, 2012 11:34 am

    I know that feeling! But remembering old recipes can be so much fun!

  16. October 15, 2012 8:41 pm

    Love it! Ooey Gooey without a single bit of guilt! Can’t wait to try!

  17. October 16, 2012 7:27 am

    I for one am so glad you found this recipe again and was willing to share it! Archival material is still just as delicious as fresh ideas, so it would be a shame to let this treat go to waste.

  18. chalynda permalink
    October 20, 2012 9:38 am

    What would happen if I don’t sift the dry mixture? would it still turn out right?

Leave a Comment

