Skip to content
Uncooking101 retreat on Martha’s Vineyard

October 23, 2012

I just returned from the most amazing weekend at the Uncooking101 raw food retreat, held on the island of Martha’s Vineyard off the southern coast of Massachusetts and led by the uncooking queen herself, Éva Rawposa.

Éva kindly and generously invited me to join the group this past weekend and help out with teaching a few classes!

The retreat was held in an outrageously beautiful home right on the water. It’s like it came straight out of a movie.

Almost too pretty to be real!

Éva, though I know she’ll disagree with me (!), has got to be one of the most organized and ambitious women I’ve ever met. She packed the 4-day retreat full of raw food classes, meals, and activities galore. You can’t even begin to imagine the value Éva provided to all attendees.

In between all the kitchen time, I also enjoyed some quiet time and much-needed relaxation: bicycling around the island, wandering up and down quaint streets full of shops, reading novels in a hammock, and more. This house was a dream come true.

And the food…the food! Éva absolutely floored us with the meals she planned and arranged. She spared no expense when it came to securing organic produce and best-quality ingredients, and our group had crazy amounts of fun putting the meals together. We ate like kings and queens!




By a stroke of serendipity, Matt happened to have a business conference in Boston last week, and when it was over, he came and joined us on the island for the remainder of the weekend!

The best part of all? I made a whole bunch of new friendships that I expect will last a lifetime. I miss these people already! The camaraderie we all found on this trip was truly priceless.

Friends, I am barely scratching the surface here of all we saw and did during this incredible Uncooking101 raw food retreat. Éva outdid herself to such a degree that words can’t do it justice…the setting, the scenery, the food, the people, the laughs, everything was so far above and beyond what I had expected or hoped for that I am blown away in every sense. I couldn’t possibly even blog it all, so I’ve created a new Facebook album where I’m cataloging all my photos from the trip. I should have them all (over 150 of them, including tons of the mouthwatering food) in there by the end of today, so you can browse away.

Click here to view my complete album of photos from the trip.

Thank you SO MUCH again, Éva, for everything!
And readers, you will want to keep an eye on Éva’s site and watch out for the next Uncooking101 vacations in 2013. They book fast…and I see now exactly why! It was the best, most enjoyable event I’ve attended in a very long time.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2012 4:36 pm

    I’ve already shown my husband the pictures and have INSISTED a trip to Martha’s Vineyard. Unfortunately his hatred for Boston baseball (SERIOUS Yankees fan) runs so deep he wants NOTHING to do with anything that is even remotely close to the city, lol. Stupid. 🙂 You look so beautiful and healthy, Amber. So glad you got to get away. And hey, kind of like a mini ‘honeymoon’ when Matt came over, right??

    • October 23, 2012 4:36 pm

      And I’m surprised to see you doing a cleanse after eating such healthy food this weekend?

      • October 23, 2012 4:39 pm

        Oh, it definitely wasn’t the TYPE of food that left me feeling a little off – just the amounts! I ate SO MUCH! 😛

    • October 23, 2012 4:54 pm

      Oy. See, another reason I don’t “get” sports people. 😉 MV is BEAUTIFUL!

  2. October 23, 2012 7:51 pm

    Happy happy happy heart! So overjoyed for you that this all worked out and that you were able to share your shining self with so many more glorious people. And hurrah that the flights all fell into place (or were pushed into place 😉 ) so that Matt could join you! And oh, that weather…

    • October 23, 2012 9:27 pm

      The weather was gray and a little drizzly for a couple days in the middle there, but for most of the trip, it was perfection. 🙂

  3. October 23, 2012 11:05 pm

    And as much to the point you, Amber Superstar, are getting around and are getting into the hearts of these people with whom you share yourself!
    What a stunning setting and it does look _right_ out of a movie!
    I want us to chat soon!
    love
    Ela

    • October 24, 2012 8:42 am

      Aw, thanks Ela. Yes, we do need to chat! I’ve been staying up-to-date on your blog, but haven’t been commenting much anywhere lately…I feel like I never have anything constructive or meaningful to add, then my brain starts to frazzle as I try to think of something…anyway, yes!

  4. girlcooksworld permalink
    October 23, 2012 11:38 pm

    That retreat sounds amazing! I totally love the Cape/islands at this time of year… it’s still pretty warm, the crowds are gone, etc. And pair all that with awesome food? Heaven!

    • October 24, 2012 8:42 am

      It was definitely the “off-season,” and it felt lazy, idyllic, and beautiful. October is a great time to go!

  5. Lauren permalink
    October 24, 2012 2:22 am

    So amazing! What a gorgeous kitchen (from what I can see) and house! Is it a rent-able cottage? I’ve been to Martha’s Vineyard several years ago when I had family in Cape Cod. So many cute stores! The one and only wallet I ever have/use is from The Black Dog, unique to the island? Though I don’t remember their restaurant being all that veg-spectacular, let alone raw!

    • October 24, 2012 8:47 am

      The kitchen WAS gorgeous – as was the entire house! It was a 6-bedroom place, so I don’t know if it qualifies as a “cottage” 😉 but yes, it’s rentable. Super expensive, though, as is everything on the islands. That made it all the more amazing that Éva put together such a strikingly affordable vacation. She could easily have charged twice as much as she did.
      I walked/biked/drove past Black Dog daily, and finally peeked in to see what it’s all about. Nothing there for me to eat, though! Mocha Mott’s was more my style, anyway – I think I visited every day we were there. 🙂

  6. October 24, 2012 5:56 am

    wow! that sounds like such an amazing time! all of the food looks superb. i’ve never been to martha’s vineyard, but it looks gorgeous. and it’s so great that matt was able to be a part of it, too.

    • October 24, 2012 8:50 am

      I might never have visited had Éva not invited me on this vacation. I’m so happy I did – it’s a beautiful place. 🙂

  7. bitt permalink
    October 24, 2012 10:59 am

    What a great time to go to Martha’s Vineyard, before it gets too cold but after the busy busy tourist season. I’m so glad you and Matt got some sort of a get-a-way after all, even if it was after some work. Sometimes the universe just gives you what you need. Hope you are feeling good these days. The retreat looks amazing, love all the eye candy/raw goodies.

    • October 24, 2012 11:01 am

      It really was the perfect time of year to go. Matt and I enjoyed the time away, however brief. 🙂

  8. October 29, 2012 9:56 am

    Just found your blog after jotting down your info at the second part of the vacation! I had a wonderful time as well, and just posted my set of photos http://www.staybasic.com/journal-home/2012/10/29/uncooking101-retreat-on-marthas-vineyard.html … Looking forward to following you blog!

  9. November 2, 2012 4:40 pm

    Gasp. That house IS gorgeous. But the food, oh the food! Serious healthy food envy right now. 🙂 Can’t wait to see more pics.

Leave a Comment

