Skip to content
Wedding: Dress

October 24, 2012
tags:

Before I even started shopping for a wedding gown, I knew that any old dress just wouldn’t do, and that it could be extremely difficult to find the right dress to fit my style. Early on, I decided it would be worth it to have one custom-made for me. Here in Kansas City, we’re lucky enough to have a local designer who works exclusively with eco-friendly fabrics; after one meeting, I hired Janay Andrews of Janay A Handmade to create my dress.

Made of eco-friendly hemp-silk fabric, my A-line fit-to-flare dress had a sweetheart neckline, scalloped black lace trim, a black waist sash, a ruched corseted bodice, tulle underskirt, V-back with corset lacing, black lace sleeves and panels on the skirt, French bustle, and a matching veil and garter. It was exactly what I wanted: a unique and elegantly gothy gown that fit my style and personality perfectly.

Janay also blogged about my dress here.

For more information on Janay’s creations, visit Janay-A.com and/or the Janay A Handmade Facebook page.

Other Accessories & Details
Shoes: cheapies from DSW ($12!)
Bat necklace: FableAndFury, via Etsy
Black nail polish (fingers and toes): O.P.I.

For more wedding posts, visit my Wedding tab!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2012 12:32 pm

    Amazing photos (and dress)! I especially love the photo of you sitting at the table πŸ™‚

  2. October 24, 2012 12:38 pm

    You were a beautiful bride, I love the dress!

  3. October 24, 2012 12:40 pm

    $12 shoes from DSW?? Score! LOVE, love that place. When Zona Rosa first opened in the Northland, I was at DSW nearly every weekend. I’m actually quite embarrassed to share how much I spent on shoes in one summer. And they were from the clearance racks mostly, which makes it even worse…

    ABSOLUTELY STUNNING dress. If I had gone and had a ‘proper’ wedding, I believe I would have loved something like this very much. (Traditional white gowns are boring.) I remember the designer had described it as ‘gothic’ on her blog…but I really think it’s quite elegant and dainty as well…elegantly gothic perhaps?

    • October 24, 2012 12:41 pm

      My shoes were off the clearance rack too! $12 was the price after the 75%-off discount. πŸ˜›

      Exactly – it was “elegoth”! πŸ˜‰

  4. October 24, 2012 12:50 pm

    What a beautiful bride, and what a sweet couple! Your dress is gorgeous, and your hair style goes so well with it. Your shoes and necklace were perfect too. Thank you so much for sharing – I love it all! Elegoth! Awesome! πŸ™‚

  5. October 24, 2012 1:26 pm

    Gorgeous! I love the neckline and the lace trim adds so much especially on the hem of the dress.

  6. Tara permalink
    October 24, 2012 1:49 pm

    Beautiful!!! I love the dress even more now that I know more about it. Your photos are gorgeous (no surprise there! : ) I also love the photo of you sitting at the table. Truly beautiful!!!!!

  7. October 24, 2012 1:54 pm

    I LOVE your dress, Amber! So unique and totally you.

  8. October 24, 2012 2:01 pm

    Gorgeous dress on a gorgeous girl!!! πŸ˜€

  9. October 24, 2012 3:19 pm

    Gorgeous bride, gorgeous dress!

  10. October 24, 2012 3:43 pm

    Oh wow, your dress is beautiful! My husband and I actually eloped, but I always thought that if we had had a wedding, I would have wanted black accents for my dress. Congratulations! πŸ™‚

  11. Laura permalink
    October 24, 2012 5:09 pm

    Just absolutely gorgeous. It is perfect for you!! Love that it is so unique and great to hear about creativevity and frugality! Sounds like my wedding!!! Amazing picture at the table!! Congrats!!

  12. Simin permalink
    October 24, 2012 6:10 pm

    Congrats Amber! You look absolutely beautiful! Wish you the best!

  13. October 24, 2012 7:30 pm

    Your dress is beautiful Amber – I love that you got just the right match for you. You look great in it too πŸ™‚

  14. October 24, 2012 7:55 pm

    Gorgeous! It’s so special that it was designed just for you, too!

  15. October 24, 2012 9:14 pm

    Amber!! You finally have all your wedding photos!! Oh oh oh, the excitement! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  16. October 24, 2012 10:34 pm

    OMG Amber!!!!!!! You, your dress, your pictures — GORGEOUS!!!!!

  17. October 25, 2012 1:33 pm

    Wow! You look absolutely gorgeous. That dress is stunning! It’s something I would have worn myself. My wedding dress was also black and white. So classy!

  18. October 26, 2012 1:20 am

    Love your new blog appearance! And my, that dress. Stunning, stunning stunning. The pair of you!

  19. October 26, 2012 10:05 am

    So jealous. Awesome style. You deserve it!!

  20. October 27, 2012 4:59 pm

    Gorgeous!

  21. October 28, 2012 9:40 pm

    you look stunning and the dress is gorgeous and so perfect on you! beautiful captures of a beautiful bride!

  22. November 2, 2012 5:10 pm

    Wow Amber, love all these pics. You look absolutely stunning – YOU make the dress! I’m off to see more wedding pics!

Leave a Comment

