Skip to content

Creamy Pumpkin-Pecan Oatmeal (single-serving)

October 26, 2012

I held off as long as I could, but I finally did it: I “broke the seal” on my pumpkin usage this fall. It had to happen eventually.

I made and enjoyed this creamy, satisfying oatmeal just this morning, and I’m already planning on having it again tomorrow. The recipe makes a single serving, but can easily be doubled.

Creamy Pumpkin-Pecan Oatmeal

dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, soy-free, single-serving

1/3 cup rolled oats (gluten-free, if desired)
2/3 cup nondairy milk (such as hemp, almond, or coconut)
1/4 cup canned pumpkin purΓ©e
2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
(optional; see Chef’s Notes)
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (or more, as desired)
Pinch of sea salt
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Sweetener of choice, to taste
(see Chef’s Notes)
1 tablespoon chopped pecans

In a small saucepan, combine the oats, milk, pumpkin, applesauce, cinnamon, and salt; stir well to combine.

Bring the mixture to a simmer over medium-low heat and cook for 5 to 7 minutes, until the oats have softened and the mixture is creamy.

Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla and your sweetener of choice.

Transfer to a bowl, top with chopped pecans, and enjoy.

Yield: 1 serving
Per serving: 279 calories, 9.8g fat, 43.4g carbs, 8g fiber, 8.5g protein

Chef’s Notes
– Applesauce: I include applesauce in this recipe to add a little natural sweetness and to bulk up the serving size a bit. You can easily leave it out.
– Sweetener: You can use 1 tablespoon maple syrup, agave, or coconut nectar, or a packet of stevia.
– Milk: This can be made with water in place of the nondairy milk, but the final product won’t be as creamy.
– Nuts: Feel free to use any other nut besides pecans; walnuts would be lovely.

Here’s to delicious mornings!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Doody permalink
    October 26, 2012 1:03 pm

    I love Oatmeal and pumpkin! I will be making this comfort food:) thanks!!

  2. bitt permalink
    October 26, 2012 1:39 pm

    This looks so good! I read somewhere than Libby’s pumpkin had fillers in it, even though they aren’t listed on the label, do you know anything about this?

    • October 26, 2012 1:41 pm

      I haven’t read that, but I’d be curious to learn more. I’ve tried every other type of canned pumpkin I’ve seen in my area, but they just don’t taste good to me, so I always come back to Libby’s. Oh well – there are worse vices, I suppose. πŸ˜‰

      • Bitt permalink
        October 27, 2012 9:30 pm

        Ok I’ll look into it and see what I can find out. I think they should label it if it’s in there, seems illegal. I’m concerned it could be wheat!

  3. October 26, 2012 3:15 pm

    Oooh, just you wait. I really broke my seal yesterday πŸ˜‰

  4. October 26, 2012 3:18 pm

    I ‘lol-ed’ at your ‘pumpkin usage’ comment. πŸ™‚ My husband always says ‘Brace yourselves, everyone…Trish has pumpkins and she’s going to use them!’ Hahahahahaha. πŸ™‚ I’m so freaking sick of pumpkins before Thanksgiving even gets here because I start using them in September and purchasing canned in August. And I LOVE that you use Libby’s. πŸ™‚ I do try to roast my own when I can find the pie pumpkins on sale, but it really makes me happy to see a ‘proper’ chef using pumpkin from a can.

    I love that your pumpkin oatmeal is so creamy. Have never thought to add applesauce in the oatmeal, although I add it to baked oatmeal all the time.Hmmmm, now I’m thinking baked pumpkin oatmeal ‘cakes’ for this weekend. And the pecans…yum! I love to use maple syrup and coconut palm sugar to sweeten it, and extra maple flavoring. And I’m such a fatty that I top my weekend oats with TrueWhip. Oh, well. Could be eating worse things, I suppose…

    • October 26, 2012 3:54 pm

      I’ve done that same thing in years past, so this year I held out for as long as I could πŸ˜‰

      I’m really not an “oatmeal person” to the degree that some people are (like my own husband), but sometimes it REALLY hits the spot! Mm, this would be awesome topped with some TruWhip…

  5. October 26, 2012 11:18 pm

    this sounds amazing!

  6. October 27, 2012 6:03 am

    Oh, I love anything pumpkin! =)

  7. Stacy permalink
    October 27, 2012 9:31 am

    This looked so good I had to make it this morning! Yum!!!! I didn’t have applesauce but chopped an apple really fine in the small ninja and it worked fine, will be a staple for these cold mornings!

    • October 27, 2012 9:36 am

      So glad you enjoyed it, Stacy! Great idea on the shredded apple, too. It’ll be a great staple breakfast for the cold months ahead!

  8. October 27, 2012 10:02 pm

    This looks AMAZING!! What a great idea! I love new ways to eat pumpkin!

    Meg

  9. October 28, 2012 2:19 pm

    Mmmmm! I love pumpkin oatmeal. :). I actually roasted pie pumpkins for the very first time this year and made my own puree. I see lots of creamy pumpkin-pecan oatmeal in my future πŸ˜€ Thanks, Amber!

    • October 28, 2012 3:43 pm

      Mmm. I hope you make a couple pies with it, too!

      • October 28, 2012 5:28 pm

        I am still ISO a good vegan pumpkin pie recipe. Got one up your sleeve, Amber? πŸ˜‰

      • October 28, 2012 5:40 pm

        You know what, it’s been several years since I’ve made one (I usually go for pecan pie over anything else), but maybe it’s time I give pumpkin pie another go in my kitchen!

  10. Marie-Guy Maynard permalink
    October 29, 2012 8:32 am

    Just made this recipe and it is absolutely delicious. Comfort food!!!

  11. October 29, 2012 9:51 am

    This looks so good! I will make it tomorrow for my family… If I am inspired today, I may even bake a pumpkin today!

Leave a Comment

