Skip to content
Phantom’s Feaste 2012: Feaste of Frankenstein

October 31, 2012
tags:

Happy Halloween, everyone! It’s my favorite holiday, so I’m a happy camper today.

Every year that we’ve been together, Matt and I have attended Phantom’s Feaste at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival. It’s a pre-Halloween, “R-rated” interactive dinner theatre production with a different theme every year. This year, they echoed the theme they did in 2009: Feaste of Frankenstein! Per their website:

Join us for the thrilling and blood-curdling Feaste of Frankenstein! Only 150 guests each night will be invited to pass through the Castle gates, past the Fountain of Blood, and along the torchlit path to the Laboratory of Castle Frankenstein. The Good Doctor wants to share his latest scientific achievements along with a six-course meal prepared by the castle chef. Enjoy the food, the drink, and the bloody spectacle that has been prepared for those brave enough to attend. The Creature isn’t completely finished, but with your help, he will be ready very soon. You’ll be screaming “It’s alive!” before the evening is out! The horror of Victor Frankenstein’s monster is just beginning…

As I said last year, one thing I LOVE about Halloween-time is that it gives me an excuse to don certain clothes and accessories that I only rarely get to wear anymore.

Anyone who knows us (or has seen some of our wedding photos!) knows that Matt and I are still goth kids at heart. 😉

The event begins at dusk.

After darkness falls and we’re led through the haunted fairgrounds, we arrive at the theatre tent and are greeted with water, wine, and hot apple cider…

…as well as warm dinner rolls.

The [always delightfully gory] play continues as we chow down on our multiple courses.

Just like last year, we’d called ahead and asked for a vegan/plant-based dinner, and Chef Frank outdid himself once again. Instead of a boring deli-meat-and-cheese appetizer platter, we got this plate of awesomeness, which included (clockwise from top) crackers, blanched green beans, mixed marinated olives, celery sticks, capers and dried cranberries, baby carrots, red grapes, and a bowl of black bean-corn-roasted red pepper hummus. SO GOOD!

Next, we received a broth-based tomato-basil soup, whereas everyone else’s was cream-based.

Frankenstein’s monster came alive right about then!

The soup was followed by a small palate cleanser of cranberry-lime juice.

A toast!

Everyone else had roast beef and mashed potatoes for their main course, but Matt and I got greens beans with truffle sauce (!)…

…and spaghetti with marinara sauce and steamed vegetables.

The non-vegan dessert was chocolate fudge cake with white chocolate drizzle. I did have several bites of this, and it was fantastic.

But Chef Frank also prepared us another dessert: sliced strawberries (including some chocolate-coated pieces) with slivered almonds. Yum!

It was another devilishly delightful and frightfully fun Phantom’s Feaste. I already can’t wait until next year’s!

Are you doing anything fun for Halloween tonight?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 12:46 pm

    Omigosh…that looks like fun! I’m by no means a ‘goth kid’, but I do enjoy goth-y things. Ouija boards, graveyards, paranormal investigations (I wouldn’t even need the special cameras to see some of the things they see, lol…), old bloody horror flicks from the 70’s and 80’s, although I’ve found that I’ve gotten a bit sensitive to things like torture (even as I know it’s fictional). A bit strange for a girl who works with the energy of Light and Angels, but I was raised on horror flicks, so they still hold a special place in my loving heart…lol. Hubz would never go to something like this with me (he’s BO-RING), but I have a friend who is obsessed with gross things, so maybe I’ll convince her to want to go next year. Your meal looks surprisingly delicious, too!

    • October 31, 2012 12:49 pm

      …and good choice, btw, on your appetizer! That thing looks tasty. I detest cheese already, and while I’m not ‘fully vegetarian’, there just aren’t a lot of deli meats that make me want to eat them. Something strange about the texture, smell, etc…

  2. Tara permalink
    October 31, 2012 3:36 pm

    That’s so cool that they went above and beyond to accommodate your diets once again!!! You and Matt make an adorable goth couple : )
    I’m glad that you love Halloween. It just so happens to be my birthday and today is my ((yikes))….. 30th! I’m quietly celebrating with my husband and parents, having dinner at the only vegan/vegetarian restaurant in RI. It’s all a vegan foodie could really want : ) I hope that you enjoy your favorite holiday!!!

    • October 31, 2012 4:00 pm

      Happy 30th birthday, Tara! You have an awesome b-day 😛 Enjoy your dinner out!

      • Tara permalink
        October 31, 2012 4:10 pm

        Thank you so much : ) I must also let you know how excited I am that I received a spiralizer as a birthday gift. Now I can finally try all of those raw noodle recipes from ‘Practically Raw.’ I’ve made your spinach pesto several times with cooked noodles and it’s awesome; can’t wait to try it on zucchini noodles!!!

      • October 31, 2012 4:11 pm

        Nice! Perfect b-day gift 🙂 You’ve gotta try the Vermicelli with Pecan Cream Sauce, too…yum!

  3. November 1, 2012 10:39 pm

    Hurrah!! I’m so glad it turned out to be just as wonderful (and delicious) as the year before, and the year before, and… So happy for you both! And, of course, you both look searingly hot 😉 xo

    • November 2, 2012 8:57 am

      Even though you would’ve frozen your tail off, I so wish you could’ve been there with us. 🙂

  4. November 2, 2012 10:10 am

    What a fun event!! My husband would be in seventh heaven. He loves that kind of thing! I’m going to have to keep this in mind for next year!

    • November 2, 2012 10:52 am

      You should totally go next year! It happens in the weeks following RenFest, before Halloween. 🙂

  5. November 2, 2012 4:20 pm

    What fun! I also love Halloween. That restaurant looks amazing. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Comment

