Skip to content

Dinner with friends, “Eat to Live”-style

November 2, 2012

In September, my good friend Rachel asked for my recommendation on a good “diet”/healthy lifestyle plan she could follow. I told her I’m a big fan of Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s Eat to Live diet-style, a whole-foods plant-based diet comprising massive amounts of vegetables plus fruit, beans, nuts, and seeds. I don’t claim to follow it 100% myself – I do eat [minimally processed] sweeteners, [healthful] oils, and [good-quality sea] salt, all of which are forbidden on his plan – but any time I need a kick in the pants, diet-wise, I follow EtL for awhile to get back on track. Rachel read the book and was floored by what she learned (Dr. Fuhrman is a master of backing up his recommendations with science), and she’s been “eating to live” ever since.

A couple weeks ago, I got together with Rachel, her boyfriend Tyler, and our friend Brian for an Eat to Live dinner night. Basically, Rachel and I did all the cooking, and the boys enjoyed the fruits of our labor. 😉

We began with a platter of my Curry-Roasted Cauliflower. This lasted all of about 3.7 seconds.

We prepared a batch of my Perfect Marinara Sauce. MAN, I love this stuff. I could (and do) eat it with a spoon.

We spiralized some zucchini for the pasta (I had fun showing my friends how to work the spiralizer; see first photo) and also baked up some meatless meatballs. We used the recipe in Eat to Live, but I posted a good vegan meatball recipe a couple years ago here. (Side note: Brian’s sinister over-the-shoulder stare in the photo below cracks me up!)

Dinnertime! It’s not a very pretty picture (these photos are all from my phone, if you hadn’t noticed), but it was seriously delicious.

For dessert, we whipped up a big pan of Dr. Fuhrman’s black bean brownies. I’ve made other black bean brownie recipes in the past that I wasn’t thrilled with, but this one was pretty good.

I also made us a raw chocolate mousse to use as frosting. (That recipe will be appearing in my second cookbook!) All in all, it was a very successful dinner, and I think the boys were quite impressed (whether they admitted it or not!) that such healthy cooking could taste so good.

Speaking of food and parties, I’m hosting a Practically Raw party tonight! Well, not really – it’s actually an art showing event for a friend, Rachelle Gardner (give her a “like”!) – but I’m catering the soirée, and all the hors d’oeuvres I’m serving are recipes from Practically Raw. On the menu are:

  • Vegetable crudités with Zucchini Hummus (pg 110) and Pizza Dip (which is just the coating from my Pizza Kale Chips, pg 102!)
  • Marinated mushrooms stuffed with Garlicky Guacamole (pg 88)
  • Mini Sopes con Mole Poblano (i.e. Mexican corn cakes with a spicy mole sauce, pg 150)
  • Curry-Glazed Cashews (pg 181)
  • Award-winning Caramel-Fudge Brownies (pg 204)
  • Chocolate-Covered Cookie Dough Truffles (pg 203)

Sounds good, huh?! Here’s hoping the night goes smoothly and everyone loves the food. 🙂

Have a great weekend, everyone!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2012 1:59 pm

    It’s awesome that you have friends who share your desire for a healthy lifestyle. I have a few but it makes it much more difficult for me to stick with it. I’d say I do for the most part but it’d still be nice to relate on that level. It’s part of the reason I enjoy the blogging community so much 🙂

    • November 2, 2012 2:11 pm

      I hear you, Di. Rachel’s one of my only friends who’s interested in some of the same food/health things as I am. I gave up years ago on trying to interest more friends in such things =/ I predominantly look to the blogosphere for that, like you said!

  2. November 2, 2012 7:55 pm

    Aw, I wish I’d been there! And would be there tonight! xoxo

  3. November 3, 2012 7:32 am

    That was a fabulous dinner! 🙂

  4. November 4, 2012 7:23 am

    Holy Batman, that food sounds amazing! I don’t think I can wait for Santa to bring me your cookbook. Must have now:-).

  5. November 4, 2012 8:32 am

    Looks delicious, but I want an invite next time! 🙂

    • November 4, 2012 8:34 am

      Carrie, you know you are welcome any and every time! Hope you’re feeling well lately. xo

  6. Linda permalink
    November 4, 2012 3:34 pm

    do you know there is beans in the black bean brownie, when you see it or when you eat it?
    can you trick someone? lol just curious! Linda

    • November 4, 2012 3:37 pm

      Actually that’s been my problem with black bean brownie recipes in the past: I can definitely tell there are beans in there. I LOVE beans, but I don’t want to detect them in my brownies! This recipe is the best and smoothest one I’ve tried yet. Part of the success, I think, was due to using a high-speed blender (Vitamix or Blendtec) to blend the beans; a food processor just won’t pulverize them to the same degree.

      • Linda permalink
        November 4, 2012 8:18 pm

        Thanks, I will wait til I have a high speed blender then!

Leave a Comment

