Skip to content

Juice Cleanse Review: The Real Juice

November 12, 2012

Today’s post is the ninth in a series of reviews of delivered-to-your-door 3-day juice cleanses from companies that offer home delivery on their fresh, raw juices.
See also: reviews #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, and #8.

That’s right…I’ve got a couple more juice cleanse reviews for you all, coming up in the next month or two. Surprised? Me too! I thought I was going to stop at eight and then write a big compare-and-contrast post weighing the benefits of each juice cleansing company, but I’ve since had a few more cleanses offered to me, and some of them sounded too good to pass up. Besides, I want to be fair and include as many different companies as possible in my final roundup. I can’t say yet when I’ll have that published, but I promise, it’ll happen. Meanwhile, more JUICE!

This juice cleanse came to me courtesy of The Real Juice out of West Hollywood, CA. The Real Juice uses Norwalk hydraulic presses to extract their juices with no heat or friction, and are currently only available for delivery in and around Los Angeles. They use naturally and organically grown (even if not USDA certified) local produce to make their drinks.

Last Tuesday through Thursday, I completed their 3-day Level II juice cleanse program.

Arrival: The package was delivered around 10am, having been sent with overnight shipping in an insulated box. The contents of the box were securely packed, and everything arrived well-chilled.

I had cleared plenty of space for these round bottles in my fridge.

Options: When ordering a Real Juice cleanse, you choose between the Levels I and II. I did Level II since, well, I’ve done a few juice cleanses before. 😉 Your cleanse can be 1, 2, 3, or 5 days long (I did 3).

Each cleanse contains a pre-selected set of 6 daily juices (i.e. you don’t have the option to choose individual juice flavors). Each bottle is labeled with a number to indicate the order in which you should drink them. Beyond that, you get to decide how quickly and at what times of day you drink each of them.

Variety: All 3 days of the Real Juice cleanse consist of identical sets of juices.

The Juices…

Fantasize: carrot, apple, pineapple, orange
Each day of the cleanse begins with this juice. It’s a nice, sweet, fruity (+carroty) blend that I had to force myself to sip slowly—it was so tasty, I couldn’t stop drinking it! This is the first time I’ve seen this particular combo, and even though I’m not usually a fan of oranges, I loved this juice.

Energize: kale, cucumber, apple, celery, lemon
The second, fourth, and fifth juice of the day was this pleasant green drink. It’s not SUPER sweet, but has more than enough apple to take the edge off the kale. It does have a fairly strong celery flavor, but I found it yummy enough that I didn’t mind drinking it three times a day for three days.

Replenish: carrot, beet, apple, orange, pineapple, parsley
Beet juice can sometimes be a turn-off to me, so I’ll admit I was a bit skeptical before I opened this juice. I had nothing at all to worry about, though—this drink is fantastic! The flavor of the beets is present, but so beautifully complemented by the fruit juice blend that I couldn’t stop drinking it.

Indulge: filtered water, cashews, dates, vanilla bean, sea salt
Not surprisingly, this was my favorite drink of the day. I have one word for you: MILKSHAKE! Smooth, creamy, sweet-but-not-too-sweet, and utterly craveworthy. I love that it’s sweetened with dates instead of agave and contains real vanilla bean rather than vanilla extract. “Indulgent” really is the perfect word for it.

Extras: The Real Juice includes a handy insulated tote bag (featuring a zip top, side pocket, and stable bottom panel) to keep your juices chilled while you’re on the go. It’s roomy enough to fit a whole day’s worth of juice inside.

Another extremely handy extra they include is a 28-page informational e-book to guide you through your cleanse. (More info on that under “Support” below.)

Cost: The Real Juice cleanses cost $65 a day, with free hand delivery provided in and around Los Angeles. (They cannot currently ship their cleanses nationwide.) This brings the total price of a 3-day cleanse to $195.
(Full disclosure: The Real Juice sent me this cleanse “on the house.”)

Support: The Real Juice sends you a pre-cleanse email along with a 28-page e-book (in the form of a .pdf file). This “roadmap” booklet answers common cleansing questions, walks you through your cleanse day by day, explains the ingredients of each juice, gives lots of handy tips and ideas for getting through the cleanse smoothly, and much more. I think this booklet is a major thing that sets The Real Juice apart from other juice cleansing companies that simply don’t offer you such a wealth of information and guidance with your cleanse.

How to Order: Online or by phone (323-212-5211). They are currently serving only Los Angeles, CA and surrounding areas.

Final thoughts:
I was really pleased with the quality of The Real Juice cleanse. Every juice of the day was great-tasting, satisfying, and nutrient-rich. (Did you notice there’s no inexpensive “Master Cleanse” agave-and-lemon-juice drink thrown in there? Hallelujah!) Though it might’ve been nice to have a couple different green juices for variety, I did enjoy the three Energize green juices per day. The cashew milk was the icing on the cake for me! Perhaps most importantly, The Real Juice offers unparalleled cleansing guidance via the informative e-book they sent to all cleansers. Reading through it during your cleanse will keep you inspired and knowledgeable about the entire cleansing process. It’s a shame they can’t ship nationwide yet, but hopefully in the future, they will reach that point.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    November 12, 2012 2:01 pm

    This juice cleanse sounds wonderful! I wish they shipped to MA : ( I really need to do a juice cleanse. I’ve never done one so maybe I’ll start out doing a 1-day cleanse using my own juicer…. Great review, Amber!

  2. November 12, 2012 7:08 pm

    I really like the sound of all of these! No icky celery, and funnily enough I’ve never had a problem with orange juice…

    • November 12, 2012 7:10 pm

      Well, the green juice was pretty heavy on the celery, but not in a bad way!
      I’ve never liked OJ, but I DID like Orange Juliuses (Orange Julii?) as a kid…mmm, sugar.

  3. November 20, 2012 9:04 am

    I did a similar cleanse last year (Blue Print) and felt absolutely terrible the entire time. But! Once it was over and I was back to eating raw produce again, I had so much more energy than before, and my skin was absolutely radiant. $200 is a small price to pay for your health 😉

    Hopefully they start shipping nationwide, because I’d love to do another cleanse!

  4. Alicia permalink
    November 23, 2012 12:13 pm

    I did Blue Print Cleanse as well and they do provide shipping nationwide! Thats how i get my juices. I usually get them right after the holiday times- I always feel refreshed after cleansing.

Leave a Comment

