Skip to content

Wedding: Rings

November 14, 2012
tags:

Just like with the rest of our wedding, Matt and I chose unique and different (and “dark,” if you will) styles for our wedding rings.

Matt’s ring was made by Naturaleza out of organic, sustainably-collected wood. We purchased it from their Etsy store.

My ring was made by Art Masters out of black rhodium alloy on white gold with a cubic zirconia “white sapphire” stone.

We love our out-of-the-ordinary rings!

For more wedding posts, visit my Wedding tab!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2012 11:06 am

    I’m loving all these great wedding posts, Amber! So sweet. And I adore your rings.

    Hugs to you lovely lady.

  2. November 14, 2012 11:39 am

    Pretty! I’m not a fan of traditional wedding rings! Boring! But yours are beautiful!!

  3. November 14, 2012 11:59 am

    Yes, agreed…beautiful and non-traditional rings! I loved that it wasn’t a diamond. Neither was my ring. The metal was a mix of silver and white gold, and the stone was a C.Z. like yours, a very pretty stone. I have mixed feelings about diamonds as my husband is from Zimbabwe, and his country was robbed dry by Western culture, especially the English, of their diamonds, leaving the country very poor and in shambles. Many people have died over mining those diamonds and then killed and robbed of them. C.Z. makes more sense to me personally, but for whatever reason you chose it, it’s stunning. xx

    • November 14, 2012 12:03 pm

      Thanks Trish! I fully admit, the #1 reason for choosing CZ was price, but I do understand the ethical concerns surrounding diamonds. If I’m ever in a position to afford a diamond someday (and if I even want one, which I may not…I just don’t care that much!), that’s something I’d absolutely research and consider when making a choice.

  4. November 14, 2012 5:32 pm

    Second time I’ve seen a wooden ring. Friends at work have white oat – no metal though. I didn’t even know wooden rings existed until earlier this year. Cool.

    Tiny bit of advice for the CZ…my CZ’s always get crazy dirty – way dirtier than my diamonds. No idea why. Keep ’em clean, and they’ll shine like crazy forever ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 14, 2012 5:33 pm

      Great tip! I had no idea. How do you clean them?

      • November 14, 2012 5:54 pm

        They’re really sturdy, so just about any cleaner works as long as you brush off the debris with a soft toothbrush. Hot water and baking soda. Hot water and lemon juice. Hot water and dish soap. Etc. Soak for a while then srub w/ the brush and rinse. Good as new ๐Ÿ™‚ Or, try a commercial cleaner. Just heat it up, toss the rings in, and wait it out ๐Ÿ˜‰ I bet vinegar would work too.

      • November 14, 2012 5:57 pm

        Ahh, ok. I might have to figure out another way, then, because the black rhodium coating on my ring wears off quickly and easily. I can’t even wash my hands with it on. =/

  5. November 15, 2012 7:43 am

    Your ring is so pretty! One of the best things about the internet is being able to find such beautiful & unique things made by artists whose work isn’t available on a mass scale, instead of struggling to find something unusual at traditional jewelry stores. Most of my jewelry is handmade, and I wouldn’t have it any other way! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. November 15, 2012 11:56 am

    Wow, your rings are beautiful! Modern and “old fashioned” at the same time.

  7. November 20, 2012 3:18 am

    Nice Rings…..Superb!!

Leave a Comment

